Green buds: breaking through discouragement

I am not ashamed to say that I see a psychologist on a regular basis. I actually think it’s the most empowering and strong thing I’ve ever done.

One of the reasons I originally went was that I just felt so desperate and sad. I’m really hard on myself and everyone else so it becomes exhausting trying to keep happy when nothing seems good enough. I think a lot of people struggle with this.

Through therapy I’m learning to have healthier beliefs about myself and others and how to work on creating better ways of coping with life. This last aspect is so incredibly difficult! Imagine trying to change habits you’ve had since you were a little kid… It sometimes seems impossible to do things differently.

I have really thrown myself into creating new habits and changing my behaviour. At first, it seemed to have made a massive difference and I felt like I was really changing for the better. It was really exciting and I was starting to feel lighter, calmer and happier.

Then I got tired.

I was changing so much so quick and it was really draining. Then I let my guard down I guess and discouragement appeared on my doorstep almost immediately.

I have always struggled with failure and discouragement. I try to surround myself with things and people that uplift and encourage me but, let’s be honest, it’s often way easier to just slump into a heap and give up.

Today has been one of those days and I expect to have many more but I want to get past this – to break down discouragement and render it powerless.

The following image helps explain how I plan to tackle this at the moment… For me it’s just a matter now of keeping my pockets filled with reminders of the great things I’ve achieved so that when I sulk and push my hands deep down in frustration, they come out full of reasons why I should try again.

What do you do to fight discouragement? How do you get motivated again?

– Heidi xx

Leave a Reply

