Recipe: Wholemeal Banana Pancakes

On the weekend I wanted to make something a bit special for brekky. I normally make a banana smoothie but it was so cold! I decided to stick with the banana theme and make wholemeal banana pancakes. I grabbed this recipe and made a few adjustments to come up with my pancakes. They turned out really nice, so enjoy!

Wholemeal Banana Pancakes
Ingredients
1 cup (130g) wholemeal plain flour
1 tablespoon (20g) raw sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg, beaten
1 cup (250ml) milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
2 tablespoons (40ml) vegetable oil
2 ripe bananas, mashed

And here’s how I made them…

Method
Combine/sift all your dry ingredients together (flour, salt, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder)
dry ingredients

I sifted mine but then remembered I was using wholemeal flour (silly me!) so I had to just tip the gritty bits in. Sifting does help create a smoother batter though so I think it was worth it.
sifting

Then, after you’ve beaten your egg in a separate bowl, break up your banana pieces and throw them in.
banana in

Mash up the bananas with the egg. Moosh.
mashing

Make sure all the big lumps are gone and the ingredients are well combined.
mixing banana

Add the remaining ‘wet’ ingredients (milk, vanilla essence, vegetable oil) and stir that up well.
mixing wet ingredients

Add the ‘wet’ ingredients to the ‘dry’ ones and mix well. You end up with quite a thick lumpy batter.
batter

To make the pancakes, use a 1/4 cup to measure out each one. This will just keep them around the same size.
scoop

Heat up a pan to around medium – no hotter! The recipe called for medium-high but it burnt the first couple of my pancakes. I turned mine down and it was fine. Just err on the side of cooler rather than hotter. Cook till both sides are golden and the middle feels fluffy instead of squishy.
flipped

Then, there you have it! Pancakes for brekky.
stacked

My mix made enough for about 4 people I think.
close up

Serve with maple syrup… YUM!
plated up

I also heated some leftover pancakes up for dessert that night and they were still really good! Just make sure you keep them sealed and in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

