My DIY wedding: bunting

When my Mr and I got engaged, I knew that our wedding would be a really nice opportunity to get creative.

I love making things and coming up with something from scratch so a lot of the DIY projects for the wedding day were just little ideas I had along the way and wanted to experiment with.

One of my ideas was to fill the church with bunting to create a cosy, celebratory atmosphere.

My Mr kindly gave me a brand spanking new sewing machine for my birthday last September, so I made it my mission after that to find material I could use to make bunting.

I kept my eye out for second hand fabric and was rewarded when I popped into a thrift shop in Dungog while I was there for a music festival. I found some old sheets there that were not only super cheap, but had beautiful patterns on them as well! I scooped them up and took them home without much of a plan as to how I was going to make my fabric flags.

My next step was to get some bias binding and I luckily found just the right one on Ebay. It was quite wide and was a nice cream colour.

Now I just had to chop up all my fabric and get to work! I used pinking shears for most of my bunting. This prevented it from fraying and gave it a nice textured edge. I just cut out long triangles and sewed it straight into the binding in one long thread. The key was to just keep sewing. I ended up with more than 50m of bunting and it was more than enough for the little church where we got married.

H&A Wedding-285

I also invested in some beautiful printed craft cotton fabric that I used for my tiny bunting on things like the table numbers, bridal cars and our cake.

The tiny bunting was so small I couldn’t sew it. I decided instead to cut the pieces out in diamonds and fold them back on themselves with iron-on adhesive between the layers to keep it in place. This was a little messy and fiddly but I got there in the end.

I’ll be posting more about my wedding DIY so keep an eye out for that.

As for now, here are some more pics of the finished bunting. Enjoy! (All photos in this post were taken by the beautiful Andrew and Sarah from The Follans)

Bunting1

Bunting2

PicMonkey Collage

Leave a Reply

